top of page
Search
  • Michele

Lost in the library: what to read next?

Updated: Nov 24, 2020


Hi folks, I have an eclectic taste in literature. My latest read, The Beekeeper of Aleppo was riveting. It charts the journey of Syrian refugees, through Greece and ultimately to their goal of reaching the United Kingdom. Sometimes you're not sure if the narrator is dreaming or if what he is saying is in the here and now. I does give an insight as to the trauma suffered by refugees fleeing war torn countries, and how inadequate the support for them is.


I've enjoyed 'Bel Canto' by Ann Patchett, her writing is vivid and her characters are both believable and make the story so intriguing. I've downloaded 'Commonwealth' so my TBR (to be read) list is getting longer.


'Where the Crawdads Sing' by Delia Owen is an interesting read. When I read the author's bio, I realised why her descriptions of the natural world the main character inhabits are so vivid, she's an wildlife scientist and writer for which she has won numerous awards. This is her first attempt at fiction, and here I think I am disappointed. I did find her characterisations flawed and the behaviours were not quite believable. However, I would recommend reading this book, as she quite rightly has won awards for writing about the natural world. I think I will move on to her non-fiction books as I do like her style, and this fits in with my love of nature.


I have discovered FaceBook reading groups, and I must recommend it during this constricting times. I have discovered so many different authors, and also been uplifted by the passion of readers and their love of literature.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page